Ashmores » Star Sign

Libra is the seventh astrological sign in the Zodiac, originating from the constellation of Libra. In astrology, Libra is considered a "masculine", positive (extrovert) sign. It is also considered an air sign and is one of four cardinal signs. Libra is ruled by the planet Venus, which also rules Taurus. Individuals born when the Sun was in this sign are considered Libra individuals. According to traditional astrology under the tropical zodiac, the Sun enters Libra on the moment of northern autumnal equinox on September 23, leaving it on October 22. However the actual celestial coordinates of the Sun during this period place the Sun in Virgo.

Key characteristics and definitions
• Glyph meaning - The scales; symbolizes the principle of symmetry and balance.
• Quality - Positive: outwardly expressive, extrovert.
• Element (triplicity) - Air: thought, intellect, ideas, interaction.
• Mode (quadruplicity) - Cardinal (moveable): the element in its most concentrated or active form - associated with push, energy, and enterprise.
• Body parts - Lower back, kidneys, loins.
• Direction - East
• Traditional definitions - Humane sign - the humane signs are usually represented by human figures, but Libra is included on the assumption that the scales are held by a human hand. These are renowned for social graces and intellectual skills, and sometimes referred to as 'manly' or 'courteous' signs.

The symbol for Libra is the Scales. In Roman mythology, Libra is considered to depict the scales held by Astraea (identified as Virgo), the goddess of justice. Libra is also considered the goddess of balance and truth. She also corresponds with Egyptian mythology as Ma'at, the goddess of the scales or balance.

Generally, the qualities of Libra are considered to be compatible with those of the other air signs: Gemini and Aquarius and to a lesser extent with the fire signs: Aries, Leo and Sagittarius. However, compatibility based on sun-sign alone is considered to be only a very general guideline. The branch of astrology dealing with interpersonal relationships is called Synastry. In this, astrologers analyse the horoscopes of both parties being considered with particular reference to the positions of the Sun and Moon and Mars and Venus.